estudyante redux

back to school in 3….2….1….

Ended without much of a bang 16 October 2009

Filed under: class,groupwork — Sara @ 16:30

After the week-long break from school due to freaky weather, classes in UP resumed but it didn’t exactly pick up where it left off. Profs spent entire periods with discussions about the preceding week, student experiences, and sharing. In ID114 we even discussed the issues that have been brought to attention because of recent activities from environmental to political to solutions designers may do to avoid such things happening again.

Some exams were waived, final requirements lessened. So for the final week I had a, ID10 group paper, an ID114 18th-19th century furniture long test and an ID24 scaled interior model and presentation.

ID10 was easy enough, since all I had to do was delegate parts of the paper to my groupmates, edit, compile and send it to another groupmate for printing.

The ID114 exam had 2 centuries worth of coverage, and these periods were particularly confusing for me. Most of Western furniture in the 18th and 19th centuries were “copies of” or “inspired by” past motifs or designs, and they’re pretty difficult to differentiate. We had readings, sure, about an inch thick wad of photocopies which I read only the night before. Crammer resurrection, anyone? The exam wheezed by, and I was able to properly answer most of the items, although I couldn’t say I nailed it. I think I was the one who got nailed. haha

The last requirement to go was ID24 where we had to present an interior model of a room in the Asian house assigned to us. My group had a Chinese courtyard house. We basically made a model of the photos of the house we got. Our group was scheduled to be the first presenters, and up to the last minute  we were superglue-ing the final details. Thank God we finished right on time! Because of our last minute construction, our presentation was weak, but to tell the truth we were the more fortunate ones. Also, the final product made us so proud 😀

So that was the final week of my first semester redux. How will my next semesters fare? Will I revert to crammer extraordinaire? Or will I be a grown-up professional? Maybe both? We’ll just have to find out. But for now, I take my leave! See you next sem!

 

Leave a Reply

