estudyante redux

back to school in 3….2….1….

what can you do with a drunken sailor early in the morning? 17 June 2009

Filed under: class,first day — Sara @ 14:55

8 AM!

I wish I had a choice, but it was the only schedule offered for ID 114. Oh well, right? Thanks to my mom who had an early meeting, I hithced a ride and arrived at school by 7:30. I wasn’t the earliest one in the room, but there were two or three already seated. Of course based on yesterday‘s (and all previous semesters) experience, I was half-expecting to see no prof again. Part of me wanted it to happen, actually, because I had a real bad headache this particular morning, probably due to lack of sleep. The other part of me actually wanted to have a class today, because it would be such a waste to be there so early and have nothing happen (again).

I didn’t have to wait long. The classroom gradually filled with students and 18 minutes after 8 o’clock (by my watch), guess who came in? It’s my enrollment adviser, Ma’am Faustino! So she will be the prof for this class. She began with introducing herself and started the roll call.

Since this is a second year class, most of my classmates are second year level and already know each other. So you could imagine me being quite an outsider at this point. Thankfully, my prof was also unknown to the class because she was on leave last year. She made each of us stand and introduce ourselves, give a description, hobbies, blah blah blah. In this exercise I had a DOH moment. Here’s how I began: “Hi, I’m Sara. I’m likely a lot older than most of you because this is my second degree…”

Yeah. I unwittingly revealed the truth. I had planned not to mention it unless it was absolutely necessary, but hey, hey! Here I go blurting it out for the whole class. Bleh. Oh well, nothing I could do about it now. I did mention that I played the drums, but failed to mention photography. *sigh*

On the lighter side of events: I have a Persian classmate! She’s really pretty in my opinion. Some of the other classmates seemed interesting as well, I hope I could get over my shyness and make friends. All in good time, I guess.

After the whole class was finished, we had a discussion on the coverage of the subject. Basically  ID 114 tackled the History of Furniture (particularly Western). The chronology was the same as in Western art and Architecture, so I can say I’m not a stranger to it. The difference is that furniture design history is detailed and tackles most of the little waves during the 19th-20th century, unlike in Archi where we mentioned but merely glossed over things like Rococo and Arts and Crafts.

We were dismissed early, and at the end of the day I have forgotten the topic of discussion for next meeting. Expect me to have read nothing by then. Haha. Before going home I got myself a temporary ID, though. At home finished off my sideline and submitted it before my deadline. Win!

 

Leave a Reply

